2016 = Accomplished

2016 was not the best year for the world in general but it definitely was a stellar year for me.

I had set three personal targets for myself in the beginning of 2016 – 1) Get through the CA Final examination in the first attempt; 2) Get selected for a HPAIR conference, and; 3) Get selected for Harvard Law School’s online CopyrightX Course.

Now that 2016 is over, here’s my report card:

I qualified as a Chartered Accountant in the middle of 2016. I was blessed enough to get through in the first attempt at all levels. God (or ICAI) did not punish me for this post which I wrote a couple of years ago when I was still pursuing the course.

I also scored 60+ in two subjects – Direct taxation and Indirect taxation. I just had to add this!

Goal 1 = Accomplished

 

The application process for the annual HPAIR Asia Conference starts in March every year. The 2016 conference was going to be held at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. This goal was important, but not enough to divert resources already employed towards achievement of Group I.

March 2016 was challenging for two principal reasons –

  1. The Twenty20 World Cup was around the corner and Nagpur was going to host India’s first match. I did not even consider not going for that match. I had to watch the match, live, from inside the stadium, with my friends, with a camera in hand.
  2. 60 days separated the beginning of March from my first CA Final paper. Preparations were in overdrive, considering I had slept through most of January.

I had to plan things wisely. I used to discreetly read about Asian economy on my laptop under the pretext of watching online lectures. I wrote the answers, got an interview call in April (yes, a few days before Paper 1) and ultimately got my acceptance letter.

Goal 2 = Accomplished

 

Goal 3 was slightly easier since I was free for the most part of Q4 2016. My articleship ended in September and my GMCS, which I attended in Mumbai, ended in October. I applied for a place in the batch of 2017 and got an offer to enroll in January.

Goal 3 = Accomplished

 

Those who already know what CopyrightX is may skip the next paragraph.

CopyrightX is a 12 week online course conducted jointly by Harvard Law School and Berkman Centre for Internet and Society. It discusses the US Copyright Law in detail and the best part is that you don’t need to have a legal background to take this course. More information can be found here.

 

Also, I hasten to add that I also applied for the HPAIR Harvard Conference in November and got accepted! I attended it in February and returned with fond memories.

So in a nutshell, 2016 was smooth. Let’s hope 2017 treats everyone well!

Say something...

